When Moments of Imperfection Become Blessings!

My Entire Brood 2 days after Hudson's Birth

My Entire Brood 2 days after Hudson's Birth

Elora
Elora

As parents

We try

And we try

And we try.

There are times we hit the mark

There are times we bomb out.

No matter how old we are

Or wise we become

We are still as vulnerable to faltering

As we were during those first years

Those first days

Those first moments

With that tender new life in our hands.

But

However things go

No matter how many mistakes we make

Let us always ensure

Our children

And our grandchildren

Know we love them unconditionally

Despite ourselves!

I am so blessed to have

3 Incredible Daughters, Roanne, Sara, and Amber

Who have walked with me through painful, joyful, and tearful times

I am incredibly blessed to have

7 Precious Grandchildren in my life:

Elora

Tayler

Dawson

Jared

Narayan

Parker James

& Hudson (who is turning 1 this next week).

They continue to bring more Love & Joy

Into my life than I ever thought possible.

And yes

I am still making mistakes

Even as Grandma

Even as Granny Pants.

But despite my many imperfections

Children remind me to

Retain my curious nature

To remember to always search for more

To never settle for the ordinary or the mundane

And to always maintain my humility.

 

I had a moment like that this week

It reminded me to take a breath

To step back

To listen

And to learn a lesson

From my eldest grandchild, Elora.

She taught me diplomacy

And tact

And perspective

And wisdom

Through the power of her written words.

Yes, all of this

Started with yet another

Moment of

Imperfection

But tonight

I feel so blessed

And promise to remember

Elora’s words and

Her wisdom

And try just a little bit harder

To be a better person

The next time around.

Thank you Elora!

I Love You So!

You are an incredible young woman

I am so grateful you are in my life!

Love, Your Grandma

September 11, 2009. Tags: . Babies, Children, Grandparents, Parenting, parents, Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. grannypants replied:

    For a different Mother’s perspective read: Letter to My Daughter: http://grannypants.wordpress.com/2009/01/

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

